A Bit of House Cleaning

I just wanted to comment on a few changes and ideas to help improve the blog.  Hopefully I can get some ideas from you about what you would like to see.


Twitter – I started a wxtalk Twitter feed to provide quick, less-than-post-worthy updates.  For example, there was a post on the Nor’Easter that will affect the eastern US in the coming days.  When the State College, PA NWS office issued a Winter Storm Watch, I posted a Twitter update.  I also posted a picture of the HPC’s latest snowfall forecast for the region (it’s quite impressive).  I’m not sure it’s worth dedicating a new post to these items, but it does seem like something worth mentioning.  Hence the tweets.

If you have a Twitter account, please feel free to become a follower.  I’ll be happy to return the favor.  If you don’t have a Twitter account, no worries.  You can still follow along on this site as well as the Twitter page.  Alternatively, you could sign up for an account (it’s free) and simply follow the Twitter accounts that interest you without ever posting a tweet yourself.

PicApp – WordPress has teamed up with PicApp – a web site full of news-related and creative images that are free to use on any blog – to help with the posting of images on all WP blogs.  The images are usually outstanding and I plan to post at least one a day because, hey, who doesn’t like pictures?  I found “bag over the head” guy there a couple days ago.  When viewing the images on the blog, you’ll see a series of thumbnails near the bottom of the image.  Everything has its’ price and PicApp obviously wants to generate as many hits as possible.  Simply click on the arrow facing left at the end of the series of images to minimize the bar and view the entire image.  I hope you find them enjoyable and feel free to visit the PicApp site for many more images.

Comments – I promise I don’t bite. 🙂 Please feel free to comment on any and all posts.  It’s not so much that I need to hear from you (although it would be nice), rather I think it would be great if all of you (yes, there’s more than two!) could communicate with one another.  We’ve seen the weather become more active recently and that’s sure to continue through winter.  I think it would be great to get input and observations from all around the country/world as storms pass through.  (Tabulations of rain/snowfall totals can get boring without a good story.)

And speaking of comments, feel free to post what you like about the blog (so I keep it up) and what you might like added or improved (so I can make it better for you) in the comments section below.

This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

